3 Commando Brigade

Realism. Tactics. Fun.

+ New Topic + Post Reply
10 posts in this topic
Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 1:11 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Other duties:
Modder
Advanced Trainer
Recruit Trainer
Server Admin
Operations Design Team
Site Admin
Game Admin
Public Mission Admin

Posts: 6083
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (4) Helpful Techie (1) Donator (1)
Training Team (1) Modding Team (1) Zeus Operations (2)
Mission Designer (3) Leadership (1) Operation Medal (3)

Crashes, disconnects and the "3 fps" bug


This post is an attempt to get the following info, out to all players to help alleviate some of the problems with crashes, disconnects and 3fps bug.

There are three simple steps that can be taken to improve overall game stability.



1. Use a "performance" build, instead of the vanilla build.

Performance builds are created by Bohemia as interim fixes for known bugs.  They do not go through the same QA route as formally released vanilla builds, but are generally more stable, since they are more frequently updated.  We have been running these builds on our servers for the past 6 months, and have seen a significant improvement in stability.

Using these builds requires a small change in your Steam library.
1. Click on Arma 3 and select "Properties"
2. Select the "Betas" tab
3. Enter the following string in the beta key field: CautionSpecialProfilingAndTestingBranchArma3
4. Hit "Check code"
5. Select "profiling - performance profiling build", from the drop down menu.

  Image

Steam will now update to performance build instead of the vanilla build.



2. Reduce the number of sound sources to 32

The so called "3fps" bug where your fps dies, is generally caused my a bug inside DirectX, specifically within the sound engine.  There is currently no known fix, but reducing the number of sound sources appears to eliminate the issue for many (all?) players. 

This is fixed within Arma.
1. Select "Options"
2. Select "Audio"
3. Reduce the number of sound sources to 32

Image



3. Ensure that you are running the x64 version of Arma

Open A3Sync
1. Select the "Launcher options" tab 
2. Ensure that the "Arma 3 executable location" (at bottom of dialog box) is set to arma3_x64.exe

Image


Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 3:53 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Other duties:
Media Manager

Posts: 375
Location: South BUCKS, UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (2) Donator (1) Operation Medal (3)
I switched to perf in Steam as ^^^

now the update is just sitting there (2 hours...nothing), I can't play until update finishes! See you at Christmas.

My head is on a swivel, I just left the WD-40 at home.


Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 5:50 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Other duties:
Modder
Advanced Trainer
Recruit Trainer
Server Admin
Operations Design Team
Site Admin
Game Admin
Public Mission Admin

Posts: 6083
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (4) Helpful Techie (1) Donator (1)
Training Team (1) Modding Team (1) Zeus Operations (2)
Mission Designer (3) Leadership (1) Operation Medal (3)
The update is very small and takes seconds to download.  It sounds as though your files are locked or your steam connection is faulty.  I suggest a reboot.

EDIT.  Looks as though your update might have hit this ?   https://dev.arma3.com/post/spotrep-00075


Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 7:30 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Other duties:
Media Manager

Posts: 375
Location: South BUCKS, UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (2) Donator (1) Operation Medal (3)
Thanks Tap,

I tried everything you mentioned and more: clearing download cache; flushed config (restarts and hard logins between each).

Got home, worked. Looks like it might be a firewall a work? 

Anyway, thanks again.

My head is on a swivel, I just left the WD-40 at home.


Posted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:23 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Sergeant
Sergeant
Other duties:
Operations Design Team
Ribbon Moderator

Posts: 613
Ribbons:
Service Medal (3) Donator (1) Man of the match (1)
Zeus Operations (2) Mission Designer (1) Operation Medal (3)
Image


Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 9:28 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Other duties:
Media Manager

Posts: 375
Location: South BUCKS, UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (2) Donator (1) Operation Medal (3)
The server has switched to using the Perf exe, so time to switch the clients too. 

Bumping this thread as a reminder on how to do it - first post.

My head is on a swivel, I just left the WD-40 at home.


Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 7:31 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Other duties:
Modder
Advanced Trainer
Recruit Trainer
Server Admin
Operations Design Team
Site Admin
Game Admin
Public Mission Admin

Posts: 6083
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (4) Helpful Techie (1) Donator (1)
Training Team (1) Modding Team (1) Zeus Operations (2)
Mission Designer (3) Leadership (1) Operation Medal (3)
Post bumped, as we had a few 3 fps bugs last night.

Also it's now once again advantageous to switch back to the Performance build, as it contains crash fixes. 

Our servers switched over to the Perf build on Wednesday


Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 6:01 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Other duties:
Game Admin
Site Admin
Modder
Founder

Posts: 6540
Location: Surrey UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (6) Media Man (2) Donator (1)
Modding Team (1) Frag of the match (1) Leadership (1)
Operation Medal (2)
move to Tech support.. because.. er.... well it is :-)


Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:05 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Sergeant
Sergeant
Other duties:
Operations Design Team
Ribbon Moderator

Posts: 613
Ribbons:
Service Medal (3) Donator (1) Man of the match (1)
Zeus Operations (2) Mission Designer (1) Operation Medal (3)
Woohoo I'll go back to performance as well then. Cheers tap

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk


Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:48 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Corporal
Corporal
Other duties:
Operations Design Team
Advanced Trainer

Posts: 170
Ribbons:
Service Medal (1) Donator (1) Training Team (1)
Mission Designer (1) Operation Medal (1)
Having not had the 3FPS bug problems before (all previous problems are down to my s**t small computer) I will give this a go.

There are no respawns in real life.


+ New Topic + Post Reply


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

phpBB © Forum Software
© 3 Commando Brigade Gaming Community
All images belong to their respective owners


3CB Modern design by Jamie Goodson
WysiBB