Other duties:
Site Admin
Game Admin
Modder
Founder

Ribbons:
Service Medal (7)

Headset Discussion

I would recommend the Corsair Vengeance 1500, I've been using them for the past two years.

Corsair Vengeance 1500 USB Dolby

I've found the audio quality on these to be great (including the microphone), and they're extremely comfortable to wear. Sometimes I wear these for the entire day without taking them off, they're very comfortable indeed.

Note that they are a USB headset, meaning that the headset does not need to rely on your sound card for quality.

Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:36 am     Super secret spam barrier

Ribbons:
Service Medal (5) Donator (1)
For around $120 you could pick up a half decent pair of headphones if audio quality is your first priority. My experience with some of the most expensive and high rated headsets is pretty low in that area.

Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 3:42 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Major
Major
Other duties:
Site Admin
Game Admin
Modder
Founder

Ribbons:
Service Medal (7)
Cat's and Dan's suggestion would probably be my first choice in the future, purely for the sake of audio quality and having a larger variety of headphones to choose from. However, for convenience you can't go wrong with a headset.

"To achieve great things, two things are needed; a plan, and not quite enough time." - Leonard Bernstein
3CB ops in a nutshell.

PC Specs

Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 5:36 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Major
Major
Other duties:
Site Admin
Game Admin
Modder
Founder

Ribbons:
Service Medal (7)
Howl wrote:
I don't really like the idea of plugging headphones in my ear to game . . . dunno, just seems foreign to me. Jamie, I really like the look of the headset you suggested. How is the surround sound?

To be honest I haven't really noticed a difference with surround sound, but then I've only really tested them with Arma (which, AFAIK, doesn't offer surround sound).