3 Commando Brigade

Realism. Tactics. Fun.

+ New Topic + Post Reply
12 posts in this topic
Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 10:48 pm     Super secret spam barrier

Ribbons:
Media Man (2) Donator (1)

Task Force Arrowhead Radio Basics.

While I wouldnt say I am the greatest expert when it comes to TFAR (Task Force Arrowhead Radio), I have some experience with it and I have been using it for some fair ammount of time before I joined the 3CB. Since is still quite new for us here, I thought I explain the simple basics.

Task Force Arrowhead Radio.
  1. Explanation
  2. Frequencies and channels
  3. Different types of radios.
  4. Radio usage.
  5. Other Information.

1.  Explanation
Not much so say here. It works pretty much the same way as ACRE does. TFAR is trying to simulare a more realistic and natural way of voice communication in the game. Like when using the direct channel in the game, you can only hear what other players or you say when they are close enough to you. While I have never completly checked, I am quite sure you can hear or be heard as long as you are about 60m close the someone else. If you want to talk or hear somebody who is further away you have to use a radio.

2. Frequencies and channels
The main difference when it comes to using the radios compared to ACRE, is that TFAR is not really using channels but frequencies. You are still using channels, but the channels are simply a placeholde or a saveslot for a frequency you entered in the radio earlier. So when you want make sure you can stay in touch with your squad etc, you make sure you are all on the same frequency. Basically it doesnt really matter if you are using the correct frequency on channel 1, 5 or 9 because only the frequency matters.

3. Different types of radios
Right now there are 4 different types of radios in the mod.

1. Rifleman Radios
  2. Shortwave Radios
  3. Longwave Radios
  4. Underwater Radios.