3 Commando Brigade

Realism. Tactics. Fun.

+ New Topic + Post Reply
10 posts in this topic
Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 6:19 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Corporal
Corporal
Other duties:
Media Manager
Operations Design Team

Posts: 322
Location: Denmark
Ribbons:
Service Medal (1) Donator (1) Zeus Operations (1)
Mission Designer (1) Leadership (1) Operation Medal (2)
Weapons Operator (1)

Upgrade help needed..


I´m looking to "making my pc great again" but need some help.

This is where i´m at now.. 
UserBenchmarks: Game 71%, Desk 70%, Work 56%
CPU: Intel Core i7-3770 - 73.4%
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060-6GB - 75.4%
SSD: Intel 540s Series 480GB - 78.5%
SSD: Kingston SSDNow V Series 256GB - 39%
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 2TB - 86%
RAM: Kingston 9905403-559.A00LF 2x8GB - 51.2%
MBD: Asus P8Z77-V LX2Tested here:
http://www.userbenchmark.com/Software


Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 4:55 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Corporal
Corporal
Other duties:
Media Manager
Operations Design Team

Posts: 322
Location: Denmark
Ribbons:
Service Medal (1) Donator (1) Zeus Operations (1)
Mission Designer (1) Leadership (1) Operation Medal (2)
Weapons Operator (1)
As Jetrise I'm thinking it is the RAM that is the bottleneck?

Any thoughts?

“Relax. Look around. Make a call.”

Image


Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 7:37 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Corporal
Corporal
Other duties:
Advanced Trainer
Recruit Trainer
Media Manager
Operations Design Team

Posts: 1304
Location: Plymouth, UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (2) Media Man (1) Training Team (1)
Kodak Commander (1) Man of the match (1) Mission Designer (1)
Leadership (1) Public Regular (1) Operation Medal (3)
Combat Medic (1)
16GB RAM should be sufficient? I know the speed is a massive contributor to performance in ArmA...

Image
Image

"Any ship can be a minesweeper....once." - Murphys Law


Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 8:39 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Other duties:

Posts: 140
Location: Sweden
Ribbons:
Service Medal (1) Donator (1) Frag of the match (1)
Public Regular (1) Operation Medal (3)
Is that ddr3? Might be part of the problem if it is.


Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:56 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Other duties:
Game Admin
Site Admin
Modder
Founder

Posts: 6541
Location: Surrey UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (6) Media Man (2) Donator (1)
Modding Team (1) Frag of the match (1) Leadership (1)
Operation Medal (2)
Not sure it tells us much. I ran the same benchmark and it shows my components versus same model
in other people's rigs. That's what you need to check. If your component is miss configured or bottlenecked that's where it should show up. J

Sent from my FIG-LX1 using Tapatalk


Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 5:43 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Corporal
Corporal
Other duties:
Media Manager
Operations Design Team

Posts: 322
Location: Denmark
Ribbons:
Service Medal (1) Donator (1) Zeus Operations (1)
Mission Designer (1) Leadership (1) Operation Medal (2)
Weapons Operator (1)
I´m looking at RAM and  processor. RAM I got a handle on but.. I need help finding best i5 or i7 processor for motherboard for ivy bridge (model no. P8Z777-V-LX2)

“Relax. Look around. Make a call.”

Image


Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 7:19 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Other duties:

Posts: 140
Location: Sweden
Ribbons:
Service Medal (1) Donator (1) Frag of the match (1)
Public Regular (1) Operation Medal (3)
Check this out:

https://ark.intel.com/products/codename ... Ivy-Bridge


Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 8:07 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Corporal
Corporal
Other duties:
Operations Design Team
Advanced Trainer

Posts: 170
Ribbons:
Service Medal (1) Donator (1) Training Team (1)
Mission Designer (1) Operation Medal (1)
My mate advised that the i5 8th Gen (which is considerably cheaper than the i7) is more than sufficient for the job.  He tried to explain it to me but all I heard was blah blah blah, Arma uses blah blah Cores and i7 wont give you any better performance.

There are no respawns in real life.


Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 8:28 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Corporal
Corporal
Other duties:
Media Manager
Operations Design Team

Posts: 322
Location: Denmark
Ribbons:
Service Medal (1) Donator (1) Zeus Operations (1)
Mission Designer (1) Leadership (1) Operation Medal (2)
Weapons Operator (1)
So here is the thing.. Coz my pc is getting so old, When I change one part, I have to change another part as well.
For example If I want to upgrade my CPU, my motherboard is so old, I almost need to upgrade it too to benefit from one of the cpu's on the market right now .
Same with the RAM if I upgrade my motherboard I can go from DDR3 to DDR4.

So to do a real upgrade I have to upgrade it all.. The motherboard, The RAM, The CPU, The CPU cooler, and so on... AHHHHH Shoot me pls

.


Posted: Sun Aug 26, 2018 5:29 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Other duties:
Game Admin
Site Admin
Modder
Founder

Posts: 6541
Location: Surrey UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (6) Media Man (2) Donator (1)
Modding Team (1) Frag of the match (1) Leadership (1)
Operation Medal (2)
It did look like you needed to consider a new mb and hardware upgrade. £££.

Your GPU. Ssd will likely be ok to start with though. J

Sent from my FIG-LX1 using Tapatalk


+ New Topic + Post Reply


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

phpBB © Forum Software
© 3 Commando Brigade Gaming Community
All images belong to their respective owners


3CB Modern design by Jamie Goodson
WysiBB