3 Commando Brigade

Realism. Tactics. Fun.

+ New Topic + Post Reply
4 posts in this topic
Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 11:41 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Marine
Marine
Other duties:
Modder
Operations Design Team
Founder

Posts: 6832
Ribbons:
Service Medal (7) Donator (1) Modding Team (1)
Frag of the match (1) Operation Medal (1)

X45 HOTAS and ArmA 3


I may be the only one in 3CB with a Saitek X45 HOTAS, but thought it worth sharing a massive fix I've FINALLY found (through Googling) to an on going problem.
It may also help out X52 owners.

The problem is with the throttle control that you assign to the helicopter collective. ArmA sees the X45 throttle as a centered axis controller as follows:

Throttle positionArmA output
0100
500
100-100

Like any normal thinking person you probably set the Collective Raise (analogue) to Throttle + and the Collective Lower (analogue) to Throttle -.
The result is that the throttle does NOTHING for the first 50% of travel, then suddenly shoots up from 50 to 100% travel.
This makes altitude/speed control very very twitchy and almost impossible to fly accurately. Hovering is a nightmare. You've seen my flying, right?

The solution is simple, but counter-intuitive.

Set both Throttle - and Throttle + to the same Collective Raise (analogue) control.
It is important that they are in that order. Minus, followed by Plus.

Also un-map the throttle from the Collective Lower (analogue), leaving it blank.

Happy flying!
Flt Lt. Apollo



Image

Image


Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 2:03 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Other duties:
Game Admin
Site Admin
Recruitment Manager
Advanced Trainer
Recruit Trainer
Operations Design Team
Modder
Operations Coordinator

Posts: 2516
Location: In a bush, with a bag.
Ribbons:
Service Medal (6) Donator (1) Modding Team (1)
Recruitment Team (1) Training Team (1) Retired (1)
Frag of the match (1) Zeus Operations (3) Mission Designer (3)
Leadership (2) Public Regular (1) Operation Medal (4)
Weapons Operator (1)
I use the Thrustmaster Hotas x, and i am not sure which patch it was but i had to change from analogue to non analogue as it stopped responding as it should do. I will try the config you used and see if that works.

Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak and to remove all doubt.

My level of sarcasm depends on your level of stupidity.


Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 4:16 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Corporal
Corporal
Other duties:

Posts: 323
Ribbons:
Service Medal (6) Asset Medal [Armour] (1) Public Regular (1)
Operation Medal (2)
I have don't have eny issues with my X52pro since A3alpha and I use analogue input comand.

In fact, A3 fixed the throtle issue from A2. In A2 75%  was idle threshold for collective

The most annoyng thing about ARMA franchise isin't the bugs; The the worst thing is: You don't have better option.


Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 10:50 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Corporal
Corporal
Other duties:

Posts: 323
Ribbons:
Service Medal (6) Asset Medal [Armour] (1) Public Regular (1)
Operation Medal (2)
I have one but it's not usefull if you use default TFAR/ACRE keys + there is a mode for NOD/FZA AH64 mod.
The profile has TFAR/ ACRE commands on POV2 hatswich nothing more. There is nothing fancy on profile unless you are using NOD/FZA AH64 mod.

The most annoyng thing about ARMA franchise isin't the bugs; The the worst thing is: You don't have better option.


+ New Topic + Post Reply


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

cron
phpBB © Forum Software
© 3 Commando Brigade Gaming Community
All images belong to their respective owners


3CB Modern design by Jamie Goodson
WysiBB