3 Commando Brigade

Realism. Tactics. Fun.

+ New Topic + Post Reply

Arma 3 frame rate boost

13 posts in this topic
Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 6:39 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Other duties:
Game Admin
Site Admin
Modder
Founder

Posts: 6563
Location: Surrey UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (7) Media Man (2) Donator (1)
Modding Team (1) Frag of the match (1) Leadership (1)
Public Regular (1) Operation Medal (3)
I use 1 screen at 1080p. But I do super sample up to 200% (equivalent 4K)

I get good frames. But primarily because I adjust total view distance to a sensible distance for infantry I.e 1500m total view distance and 1200m object view.

It's object view that has THE single greatest impact on frames. So as long as you are sensible with that distance you should be able to bump everything else up.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 7:17 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline

Posts: 2165
Location: The Glorious Socialist Republic of Warringtonia
Ribbons:
Service Medal (5) Donator (1) Zeus Operations (1)
Operation Medal (1)
Ney88 wrote:
Could I ask what resolution you guys use - Thanks
1920 x 1080. tis the only way to play, unless you're SJ.
i use 1500 - 2000m view distance too, you only need more if you're flying tbh.
i usually have the object at 1200 on both, really no point in higher as you're just rendering stuff you can barely see.


Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 1:37 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Corporal
Corporal
Other duties:

Posts: 291
Ribbons:
Service Medal (5) Donator (1) Frag of the match (1)
Public Regular (1) Operation Medal (4)
Just like to thank you guys again particularly Serjames who had a chat with me on TS last week.  As a result of the tips he gave mainly to check the BIOS and the setting for XMP I got an immediate improvement as mine was set to manual.  Since than I have also noticed that now and again Vsync swiches back on and I have to switch it off manually in the Nvidia control panel which is a pain.  It seems to reset if you change major settings in the contol panel or the resolution.  Additionally setting the program to run with High priority also improves things quite a lot though as SJ stated the main things seem to be distance and object view.  Note both in the Arma 3 settings and the ingame "view distance settings" (showing my ignorance not sure how they correlate).  The one other thing that I switched off which made a difference was Gsync which i had not really looked at before, but I believe it has something to do with vsync.

Cheers  - I now may be able to fly a chopper in MP - well at least try without killing all and sundry.!!!!!  though at my level that meay be asking too much !!!


+ New Topic + Post Reply


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

phpBB © Forum Software
© 3 Commando Brigade Gaming Community
All images belong to their respective owners


3CB Modern design by Jamie Goodson
WysiBB