3 Commando Brigade

Realism. Tactics. Fun.

+ New Topic + Post Reply
19 posts in this topic
Posted: Thu Jun 25, 2015 9:30 pm     Super secret spam barrier

Performance Expectations

Hi guys,

As i'm still fairly new to the whole build a PC thing i'm trying to judge where my rig stands in the grand scheme of things, and what sort of performance you would expect from it when it comes to ARMA in particular.

Current spec

i5 4690k 3.4 GHz OC'd to 4.0GHz
Asus r9 270x
Samsung 840 series SSD - OS, ARMA and Mods installed here
16gb DDR3 @ 1333mHz
ASRock Z97 Anniversary MOBO
Windows 8.1

I'm getting what feels like a fairly large swing with fps ranging from as high as 40-45 down to 20-25 at times with no obvious cause, no particularly intense action, smoke etc.

I'm also aware my internet connection isn't the best, avg around 10mbps, but i'm not sure how much of an impact this would have on performance.

So i guess my overall question would be, do you think fps/performance reflects the setup or do the numbers not add up?

Posted: Thu Jun 25, 2015 9:38 pm     Super secret spam barrier
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Other duties:
Game Admin
Site Admin
Modder
Founder

Ribbons:
Service Medal (7) Media Man (2) Donator (1)
Modding Team (1) Frag of the match (1) Leadership (1)
Public Regular (1) Operation Medal (3)
Tb totally honest - for arma you have a great rig. You won't see significant gains from anything else till they either release 6 Ghz cores or get dx 12 to make a difference.

Posted: Thu Jun 25, 2015 10:14 pm     Super secret spam barrier

That's good to hear. Maybe I'm expecting too much ha! I'll try and tweak my in game settings and see if i can squeeze out a few more fps

Murphy's Law of Combat Operations # 8: If at first you don't succeed... call in an airstrike.
ImageImage

Posted: Fri Jun 26, 2015 9:04 am     Super secret spam barrier

Not sure how to oc ram tbh. The only reason I oc'd the cpu without issue is my new mobo has oc presets built in