3 Commando Brigade

Realism. Tactics. Fun.

+ New Topic + Post Reply
19 posts in this topic
Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 1:34 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline

Posts: 427
Location: Durham-England
Ribbons:
Donator (1)

Unable to disable expansions


Cant now disable expansions from main (pre-game )menu
"DISABLE " not highlighted. ( Thats when i can get in.)

but more often than not ,any attempt to open "EXPANSIONS" is Causing Arma 3 not to work or screen freeze.

I am however able to launch small basic group (which i require ) from PwS but I am unable to drop CBA.
Tried launching from  PwS / ArmA sync / Steam.   but CBA is always there.

Any ideas , getting rid of CBA would help in short term.

thanks


Posted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 5:40 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline

Posts: 427
Location: Durham-England
Ribbons:
Donator (1)
Thanks J2

I will give it ago
cheers

Image


Posted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 1:40 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline

Posts: 427
Location: Durham-England
Ribbons:
Donator (1)
Still cant delete " EXPANSIONS".
however, tried (as you suggested ) created new collection within PW6 but with 0 addons
highlighted and launched .
This gave me what i was after, it dropped the CBA   and just gave me  ARMA 3
                                                                                                     ARMA 3 ZEUS
                                                                                                     ARMA 3 Karts
                                                                                                     ARMA 3 DLC Bundle

This is still max that a lot of servers still go with.

thanks for taking time to reply.

Image


Posted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 2:06 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Other duties:
Game Admin
Site Admin
Modder
Founder

Posts: 6563
Location: Surrey UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (7) Media Man (2) Donator (1)
Modding Team (1) Frag of the match (1) Leadership (1)
Public Regular (1) Operation Medal (3)
MS sounds like you may have mods or PBO files snuck into the main "addons" folder within the main a3 install folder.

Program Files (x86)\Valve\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\Addons

This must not contain any modded files.. but people sometimes drop them there by accident.. Worth checking.

Worst case scenario do an uninstall / re-install of the game files.

SJ


Posted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 7:17 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline

Posts: 427
Location: Durham-England
Ribbons:
Donator (1)
Yep i will look into what you said (SJ)

I have been thinking about clean install of everything ArmA for some time and will probably do so when current issues are ironed out .

What we need is a stable set of mods that we can run with for some time .
I fear the  constant updating of mods in the never ending quest for "realism " / "immersion " is now having a detrimental effect on just playing the game.

thanks for your reply
cheers

Image


Posted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 12:53 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Major
Major
Other duties:
Site Admin
Game Admin
Modder
Founder

Posts: 3774
Location: London, UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (7)
Madshepherd wrote:
Still cant delete " EXPANSIONS".
however, tried (as you suggested ) created new collection within PW6 but with 0 addons
highlighted and launched .
This gave me what i was after, it dropped the CBA   and just gave me  ARMA 3
                                                                                                     ARMA 3 ZEUS
                                                                                                     ARMA 3 Karts
                                                                                                     ARMA 3 DLC Bundle
So your game is fixed now? This means you don't need to reinstall.


Madshepherd wrote:
This is still max that a lot of servers still go with.

Not sure what this means. If you're referring to Karts and the other DLC, they are all part of Arma. All servers run them.


Madshepherd wrote:
What we need is a stable set of mods that we can run with for some time .

Please see here (3rd paragraph):
https://www.3commandobrigade.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2694

And here:
https://www.3commandobrigade.com/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=2723


Posted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 4:22 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline

Posts: 427
Location: Durham-England
Ribbons:
Donator (1)
Still cant disable expansions ,but it is now not a big deal .
As i can get to where i want to be through PW6 .

Apart from the inability to disable expansions (as i used to ) i was also unable to launch game without mods as CBA always turned up
and stopped me accessing the majority of other servers who carry no mods at all . ie "Wasteland" servers.

And as for the DLC , yes i did think these were addons as they are always in the box of the servers prerequisites  (along with the mods ) for entering the game.

So .I can access 3CB servers through Arma Sync no probs 

I can now launch game without CBA addon from PW6

That's all i need /  Sorted (for now )

Would a re-install be such a bad thing , ????

I must have inadvertently picked up a lot of rubbish along the way with this game.

Thanks for your reply / links (Goodson)

Cheers.

Image


Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 12:14 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline

Posts: 427
Location: Durham-England
Ribbons:
Donator (1)
Rainy day in North Pennines 

SO  
Re-installed :-        Steam,   ArmA 3,  ArmAsync ,  PW6  .  nothing changed,  still the same .how did that happen.?

First time i launch new installed (A3 ) game from steam it launches with  5 3CB new server 1 mods  how did that happen  ?

I did check ADDONS folder as SJ suggested earlier , it has 310 files half of which are PBO  TYPE  the other are BISIGN  TYPE

Should the PBO files not be there ?  if so where should they be ?


However i can still get into game so not problem .

But if anyone can shed any light on whats going wrong here so i can put it right at later date i would appreciate it

thanks

Image


Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 7:49 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Other duties:
Game Admin
Site Admin
Modder
Founder

Posts: 6563
Location: Surrey UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (7) Media Man (2) Donator (1)
Modding Team (1) Frag of the match (1) Leadership (1)
Public Regular (1) Operation Medal (3)
I'm guessing you have some non vanilla PBO's in there..

Looking at my install there are 310 files in the D:\Program Files (x86)\Valve\Steam\SteamApps\common\Arma 3\Addons folder.

I have all the Current DLC's i.e. Karts. So that sounds right....

Other thing to check is your steam shortcut. Rightclick A3 in steam and check you have no startup parameters set. i.e. a Mods lines. You don't need anything in there if you are using Pw6.

Suggest you only need Pw6 now anyway, so you can bin armasync.

over....


Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 2:12 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Other duties:
Game Admin
Site Admin
Recruitment Manager
Advanced Trainer
Recruit Trainer
Operations Design Team
Modder
Operations Coordinator

Posts: 2516
Location: In a bush, with a bag.
Ribbons:
Service Medal (6) Donator (1) Modding Team (1)
Recruitment Team (1) Training Team (1) Retired (1)
Frag of the match (1) Zeus Operations (3) Mission Designer (3)
Leadership (2) Public Regular (1) Operation Medal (4)
Weapons Operator (1)
You could try looking at your Arma3.cfg file and seeing if you have any mods loading up under "class ModLauncherList". If you do it would show
as follows:-

class Mod1
    {
        dir="@uk_sftg_a3";
        name="";
        origin="GAME DIR";
        fullPath="D:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Arma 3\@uk_sftg_a3";
    };

The Arma3.cfg file is located in c:/users/username/my documents/arma3/ and
you can use http://notepad-plus-plus.org/download/v6.6.8.html to open
it.

If you need further help just post and i will see what i can find out  :)

Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak and to remove all doubt.

My level of sarcasm depends on your level of stupidity.


+ New Topic + Post Reply


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

cron
phpBB © Forum Software
© 3 Commando Brigade Gaming Community
All images belong to their respective owners


3CB Modern design by Jamie Goodson
WysiBB