3 Commando Brigade

Realism. Tactics. Fun.

+ New Topic + Post Reply

Unable to disable expansions

19 posts in this topic
Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 4:53 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline

Posts: 427
Location: Durham-England
Ribbons:
Donator (1)
Thanks for replies lads

However i am beginning  to think my STEAM un-install may have left some files behind.
(it has been an issue with other Steam users )

This would then leave my re-install flawed from the outset.

Why would i have same issues?

Why would my in game settings be as they were ,ie mouse /  keyboard / Track IR / surely i would have needed to re-set these,
had the re- install been clean.?

There were no "Addons" in pre-launch from STEAM but i end up with 4  3CB  server mods.

I think i will wait for another rainy day:sick: then use third party software to uninstall (all of it ) ArmA 3  then try another clean install through steam.

Anyone recommend such a program ?? 

thanks

PS  class Mod1  

       dir="A3"
       name="Arma 3 "                             <------------No mods
       origin="NOT FOUND";  


Last edited by Madshepherd on Sat Aug 16, 2014 5:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 5:48 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Other duties:
Game Admin
Site Admin
Recruitment Manager
Advanced Trainer
Recruit Trainer
Operations Design Team
Modder
Operations Coordinator

Posts: 2516
Location: In a bush, with a bag.
Ribbons:
Service Medal (6) Donator (1) Modding Team (1)
Recruitment Team (1) Training Team (1) Retired (1)
Frag of the match (1) Zeus Operations (3) Mission Designer (3)
Leadership (2) Public Regular (1) Operation Medal (4)
Weapons Operator (1)
When you uninstalled A3 it may not have deleted your A3 folder in app data and also my documents. The one in my documents has your arma3.cfg file which keeps information like trackir, keybinds etc, but you would not need to do a clean install to remove the problem, just follow the steps i listed above, or if you are still stuck come on TS sometime and i will talk you through it.

Edit:-

If you don't mind redoing your setup i.e keybinds etc you could just goto your a3 folder in my documents and delete yourname.Arma3Profile and also the Arma3.cfg i listed before. That way you would start with a clean profile with no mods enabled and no old keybinds or settings etc.


Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 6:11 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline

Posts: 427
Location: Durham-England
Ribbons:
Donator (1)
Yep 

I think this is the problem STEAM only uninstalls the the main frame of the game anything (files /folders ) that are created whilst playing etc.
stay and are picked up again when game is re-installed.
so you end up as you were.

Thanks  ( Nem ) i will have a look 

Sry (Nem) There are other mods in that list  :- Zeus / Karts / Dlc bundle/

  then :- there are the 4 3CB mods that loaded when i re-installed game


Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 7:12 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Other duties:
Game Admin
Site Admin
Modder
Founder

Posts: 6563
Location: Surrey UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (7) Media Man (2) Donator (1)
Modding Team (1) Frag of the match (1) Leadership (1)
Public Regular (1) Operation Medal (3)
what are the four 3cb mods that loaded... I'm actually a little unsure of what the problem is now - if I'm honest ?


Posted: Sun Aug 17, 2014 12:27 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline

Posts: 427
Location: Durham-England
Ribbons:
Donator (1)
The problem is i did not get a clean install (blank sheet of paper ) ,the 4 3cb mods for current public server turned up upon first steam "PLAY" launch following re-install.

So yes i can join 3cb server without problem but when i click on expansions to disable 3cb mods so i can go back to filter and join a Wasteland server or a server without mods ARMA stops working and crashes.

Then i have to go to " play with six" and launch collection without mods (thanks Ninja ) and join mod free servers that way.

But It does become a bit of a pain in the a**e after a while 

So in my wisdom ,as 3cb are currently working / building up stable mods for public server, i thought this may be good time to put this right.

I have also had some minor issues with key bindings and have been unable to take in game pics for some time.

I thought a clean install would sort this  , but it did not.

But hopefully i will ,or i may never find out what that mic thing is for:)

Image


Posted: Sun Aug 17, 2014 9:39 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Other duties:
Game Admin
Site Admin
Modder
Founder

Posts: 6563
Location: Surrey UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (7) Media Man (2) Donator (1)
Modding Team (1) Frag of the match (1) Leadership (1)
Public Regular (1) Operation Medal (3)
I think somehow you are telling steam to load up mods.. Did you check your steam game properties ?

Image


Posted: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:51 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline

Posts: 427
Location: Durham-England
Ribbons:
Donator (1)
Thanks for you Advice SJ /  NEM

IT is now fixed

  1     Uninstalled Arma through STEAM

  2    Then deleted the folders Nem mentioned  and every thing else Arma that i could find

  3    Then re-installed ARMA overnight

  4     I now have "clean "  install 

  5    Now able to delete expansions as required

        Just need to re set my game settings etc. then   "PLAY"


Thanks for input lads i appreciate it

cheers

Image


Posted: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:53 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Other duties:
Game Admin
Site Admin
Modder
Founder

Posts: 6563
Location: Surrey UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (7) Media Man (2) Donator (1)
Modding Team (1) Frag of the match (1) Leadership (1)
Public Regular (1) Operation Medal (3)
Mad, rememeber don't use the ingame expansions menu - it's borked always use a loader like PW6 or armasunc if you prefer.

Happy silent gaming.... ;-)

SJ


Posted: Sun Aug 17, 2014 6:22 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Other duties:
Game Admin
Site Admin
Recruitment Manager
Advanced Trainer
Recruit Trainer
Operations Design Team
Modder
Operations Coordinator

Posts: 2516
Location: In a bush, with a bag.
Ribbons:
Service Medal (6) Donator (1) Modding Team (1)
Recruitment Team (1) Training Team (1) Retired (1)
Frag of the match (1) Zeus Operations (3) Mission Designer (3)
Leadership (2) Public Regular (1) Operation Medal (4)
Weapons Operator (1)
Np glad its fixed now:)

Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak and to remove all doubt.

My level of sarcasm depends on your level of stupidity.


+ New Topic + Post Reply


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

cron
phpBB © Forum Software
© 3 Commando Brigade Gaming Community
All images belong to their respective owners


3CB Modern design by Jamie Goodson
WysiBB