3 Commando Brigade

Realism. Tactics. Fun.

+ New Topic + Post Reply
11 posts in this topic
Posted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 8:58 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline

Posts: 214
Location: Kuwait

Headset mic broken?


I have no idea what is wrong with my microphone on the G231. It was working fine, but then pulled on it a bit too hard, disconnected, and now when I reconnected it, it just does not register any audio coming over the microphone (even though audio coming in to the headset still works). The headset is in a jack configuration, pink for mic and green for audio. 1 thing I did notice however, before it stopped working, is when I even slightly twist the wires (that were already twisted due to Logitechs genius fibre used and can not be untwisted), popping sounds sound up in the microphone. Other than that, my mic just refuses to record anything, although I do see activity if I plug the pink in the green and green in pink. One more thing is that I can still hear static noise if I turn up my boost in the windows microphone settings.  Thanks for any future help. 


Posted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:13 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Marine
Marine
Other duties:
Modder
Operations Design Team
Founder

Posts: 6832
Ribbons:
Service Medal (6) Donator (1) Modding Team (1)
Frag of the match (1) Operation Medal (1)
It sounds like a broken wire in the mic lead.


Posted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:39 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline

Posts: 214
Location: Kuwait
Apollo wrote:
It sounds like a broken wire in the mic lead.
I think so too, any way to fix it?


Posted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:49 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Marine
Marine
Other duties:
Modder
Operations Design Team
Founder

Posts: 6832
Ribbons:
Service Medal (6) Donator (1) Modding Team (1)
Frag of the match (1) Operation Medal (1)
You'd have to strip back the wire and re-solder it.
Whether that's possible depends upon where the break is and if it's accessible. Often it will be at the joint where the wire goes into the headset.
It's probably 50-50 and you may not find it easy even if you're experienced with electrical repairs and possess a soldering iron.
If it's in warranty obviously take it back to the shop.


Posted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:56 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline

Posts: 214
Location: Kuwait
Thanks, but will try a couple other things first because this happened once more earlier today, and managed to make it work by restarting PC, so i'm going to try and not assume the worse for now.

"If you ever find yourself in a fair fight, your tactics suck."


Posted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 10:06 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Other duties:
Modder
Advanced Trainer
Recruit Trainer
Server Admin
Operations Design Team
Site Admin
Game Admin
Public Mission Admin

Posts: 6206
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (5) Helpful Techie (1) Donator (1)
Training Team (1) Modding Team (1) Zeus Operations (2)
Mission Designer (3) Leadership (1) Operation Medal (3)
If its uses a standard 3.5mm jack, then try plugging it into a different sound source.  That will eliminate the PC


Posted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 10:10 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline

Posts: 214
Location: Kuwait
Lifetap wrote:
If its uses a standard 3.5mm jack, then try plugging it into a different sound source.  That will eliminate the PC
How so? Just plug it into another Jack? If so, I've tried that already.


Posted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 10:15 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Other duties:
Game Admin
Site Admin
Modder
Founder

Posts: 6548
Location: Surrey UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (6) Media Man (2) Donator (1)
Modding Team (1) Frag of the match (1) Leadership (1)
Operation Medal (2)
No. Lifetap means check the Pc with another mic. That eliminated the socket/soundcard/motherboard. TBH a failed mic lead is super common. If the warranty won't help most electrical repair type shops. If they still exist where you are would be able to replace or repair the lead. But the cost might make it better to just buy a new headset if you can't repair yourslef


Posted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 11:14 am     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline

Posts: 214
Location: Kuwait
Problem lies in the fact that I don't have another microphone, anywhere. Looked far and wide. Although I am very certain it is the headset. Definitely the wires, they've been troublesome.

"If you ever find yourself in a fair fight, your tactics suck."


Posted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 5:07 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Quote
Offline
Corporal
Corporal
Other duties:
Media Manager

Posts: 390
Location: South BUCKS, UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (3) Donator (1) Operation Medal (3)
or plug headset into a second pc (a friends/family) is also an option.

My head is on a swivel, I just left the WD-40 at home.


+ New Topic + Post Reply


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

cron
phpBB © Forum Software
© 3 Commando Brigade Gaming Community
All images belong to their respective owners


3CB Modern design by Jamie Goodson
WysiBB